The Salt River Watershed Council (SRWC) is a community-based 501(c)(3) public benefit nonprofit corporation.  The SRWC encourages long term cooperative watershed management practices to sustain, protect and improve water quality, drainage, aquatic and riparian habitat and other natural resources while contributing to long term economic, agricultural and community sustainability in the coastal Salt River Watershed.

Our mission is to:

  • achieve a balance between agricultural use and environmental concerns
  • encourage stewardship for the preservation of the Salt River Watershed, its habitat and wildlife
  • educate the community on the importance of this watershed
  • collaborate with local watershed groups and government agencies
  • obtain funding to monitor and maintain this vital resource

The Humboldt County Resource Conservation District (HCRCD) will be working with the SRWC over the next several years to assist the council in preparation for long term management of the Salt River Watershed.

The current SRWC board includes:

  • Carol Lee – Chair
  • Jim Regli – Vice Chair
  • John Vernon – Secretary
  • David Carr – Treasurer
  • Andy Albin
  • Ann Barbata
  • Dennis DelBiaggio
  • Jay Parrish
  • Kathy Phillis
  • Jay Russ
  • Gene Sarvinski